Thang-stong rgyal-po

60 000,00

Tempera on canvas
Central Tibet
Late 16th – first half of 17th century
D. 83 x 64 cm or 32 ¾ x 25 ¼ in

Category:

Description

On this thang-ka, the main character, of heroic size as is the custom, is the focus of attention.

In Tibetan art up to the 15th century, portraits of holy men are conventional images.  Then things changed. The faithful depiction of pontiffs was part of their “bodily relics” whose veneration brought merit on disciples.  Thus the traits of this person could indicate he is Thangtong Gyalpo (1385?-1464?), with his characteristic beard ending in long tufts of hair.  This great mystic was a member of the ‘Brug-pa* order, a branch of the Bka’-brgyud-pa monastic school.  A metallurgist, he was famous for building several iron-chain suspension bridges, a huge achievement at that time.  He is also credited with building the Dhungtse Lhakhang stupa near Paro in Bhutan.  He also invented Tibetan opera.

This convenient identification remains subject to discussion however.  In the most common iconography, Thangtong Gyalpo is seated with his hands in his lap, holding a vase of abundance.  In other depictions, he makes various gestures but is identifiable by the iron chain in his right hand.  On a wall painting described by David Jackson (2015, p. 135), the two traditions are combined; his right hand, held out toward the ground, holds the chain and the left, in his lap, holds the vase.

 

Both hands downward, like those of an ascetic at rest, is a rare gesture in Tibetan iconography but instances of it can be found.  Within the Pantheon of A??asāhasrikā* alone, we can find seven monks in this posture (Chandra, 1991, Nos. 1514, 1722, 1729, 1958, 1964, 1977, 2021, 2099 & 2110) but no ascetic.

In the top part of the painting is the sorcerer Padmasambhava (8th century), which implies that the other characters represented are spiritual descendants of that master, and concerns the study of a  text or the practice of a ritual.  One of the 25 disciples of Padmasambhava, Sangye Yeshe, wearing the black hat of the ferocious dancers, is located at the left of the main character (Chandra, 1991, Nà. 1660).  Opposite him may be Marpa (1012-1096) and below is his disciple, the mystic poet Milarepa (1040-1123).  Two major figures in Bka’-brgyud-pa tradition.  It is difficult to identify the other monks whose hats belong to the Bk’a-gdams-pa, Sa-skya-pa and Bka’-brgyud-pa orders.

The work is part of the “new sMan-bris » (sMan-bris gsar-ma) style” created by the painter Chos-dbyings rgya-mtsho, active circa 1620 to 1660, a style especially appreciated by the 5th Dalai Lama (1617-1682).  This painting bears all its characteristics:  dark green and brown background, extremely meticulous drawing reminiscent of the art of miniatures.  Moreover, certain details are gilded.  Motifs such as “ourloupés*” clouds and rocks are part of Chinese tradition.

 

Rare in its highly unusual iconography, remarkable in its refined pictoral treatment, this painting, in spite of its sectarian divergences, falls within the realm of great Tibetan art as found in the grandiose projects of the Grand Ve and perpetuated by Regent Sangs-rgyas rgya-mtsho, who reigned from 1679 to 1705.

Provenance : J. Stewart collection, Europe.

Art Loss Register Certificate, ref. S00106952.

  • Candra, Lokesh, Buddhist iconography. Compact Edition. New Delhi : International Academy of indian Culture – Aditya Prakashan, 1991.
  • Jackson, David P., Painting Traditions of the Drigung Kagyu School. New York : Rubin Museum of Art, 2015

Certificates

Download

Thang-stong rgyal-po

Pigments à la détrempe sur toile
Tibet centra
Fin XVIe – début XVIIe siècle
D. 83 x 64 cm ou 32 ¾ x 25 ¼ in

Catégorie : Étiquette :

Description

Sur ce thang-ka, le personnage principal, traité comme il est habituel en taille héroïque, concentre l’attention.

Dans l’art tibétain, jusque vers le XVe siècle, les portraits des saints hommes sont des images de convention. Il n’en sera plus de même ensuite. Les représentations fidèles des pontifes faisaient partie des « reliques de corps » dont la vénération apportait des mérites à leurs dévots. Ainsi les traits du présent personnage pourraient être ceux de Thang-stong rgyal-po (1385-?-1464 ?), caractérisés par une barbe se terminant par de longues mèches de poils. Ce grand mystique participe de l’ordre ‘Brug-pa, branche de l’école monastique des bKa’-brgyud-pa. Métallurgiste, il est célèbre pour la construction de plusieurs ponts de chaîne, véritables tours de force à son époque. On lui doit également l’édification du stūpa de Dhung-tse lha-khang aux environs de sPa-ro au Bhutan. Il est également l’inventeur de « l’opéra tibétain ».

Cette séduisante Identification reste cependant sujet à discussion. Dans son iconographie la plus habituelle, Thang-stong rgyal-po, assis, les mains dans le giron, tient un vase d’abondance. Sur d’autres représentations, il possède des gestes variés mais il est identifiable à une chaîne de fer dans la main droite. Sur une peinture murale commentée par David Jackson (2015, p. 135), les deux traditions sont réunies, la main droite tendu en direction du sol tient la chaîne et la gauche, dans le giron, supporte le vase.

Les deux mains pendantes, tel un ascète au repos, sont des gestes rares dans l’iconographie tibétaine mais cependant bien attestées, ainsi en nous restreignant au seul Panthéon de l’Aṣṭasāhasrikā, on compte sept religieux dans cette posture (Chandra, 1991, n°1514,1722, 1729, 1958, 1964, 1977, 2021, 2099, 2110) mais aucun ascète.

En haut de la peinture, se tient le magicien Padmasambhava (VIIIe siècle) ce qui induit que les autres personnages représentés s’inscrivent dans une filiation spirituelle remontant à ce maître, concernant l’étude d’un texte ou la pratique d’un rituel particulier. L’un des vingt-cinq disciples de Padmasambhava, Sangs-rgyas-ye-she, coiffé du chapeau noir des danseurs farouches, se trouve d’ailleurs à la gauche du personnage principal (Chandra, 1991, n° 1660). Lui faisant pendant, on reconnaît peut-être Mar-pa (1012-1096) et en dessous son disciple, le poète mystique Mi-la-ras-pa (1040-1123). Deux figures importantes de la tradition bKa’-brgyud-pa. Il est difficile d’identifier les autre religieux dont les coiffes appartiennent aux ordres bK’a-gdams-pa, Sa-skya-pa et bKa’-brgyud-pa.

L’œuvre participe du « nouveau style sMan-bris » (sMan-bris gsar-ma), créé par le peintre Chos-dbyings rgya-mtsho, actif de 1620 à 1660 environ, manière particulièrement appréciée par le Ve Dalai-lama (1617-1682). La présente peinture en possède toutes les caractéristiques : fond foncé vert et brun, dessin d’une extrême méticulosité qui pourrait faire penser à l’art de la miniature. Ainsi certains détails sont repris à l’or. Des motifs, comme les nuages « ourloupés » et les rochers, sont empruntés à la tradition chinoise.

Rare par son iconographie très inhabituelle, remarquable par son traitement pictural raffiné, cette peinture, malgré ses divergences sectaires, participe du grand art tibétain tel que le révèlent les chantiers grandioses menés par le Grand Ve, et perpétué par le régent Sangs-rgyas rgya-mtsho, aux affaires de 1679 à 1705.

Provenance : Collection J. Stewart, Europe.

Art Loss Register Certificate, ref. S00106952.

  • Candra, Lokesh, Buddhist iconography. Compact Edition. New Delhi : International Academy of indian Culture – Aditya Prakashan, 1991.
  • Jackson, David P., Painting Traditions of the Drigung Kagyu School. New York : Rubin Museum of Art, 2015.

Certificats

Télécharger