Śiva Bhairava Bhikṣāṭana-mūrti

Sandstone
Northern India, Uttar Pradesh
9th – 10th century
H. 67 cm or 26 ½ in

Category:

Description

Carved in the fine-grained pink sandstone frequently found in Uttar Pradesh Province, the stela is an exceptional depiction of the god Śiva sculpted in half-round against a bare background. This stela has a rare iconography. It depicts Śiva in his Bhairava Bhikṣāṭana-mūrti manifestation well known in texts such as the Kūrma Purāṇa, the Liṅga Purāṇa, the Brahmānda Purāṇa and the Śiva Tattvacintāmaṇi of Lakkaṇa Dandeśa: the tale of “The Dancing Beggar Śiva Game” (Tāṇḍava – Bhikṣāṭana līlā).

 

The sculpture illustrates the two manifestations of Śiva. One is Bhikṣāṭana, naked with a harmonious, slender body, a peaceful, radiant face, braided hair in a bun (jaṭā), and a seductive look that would attract any woman met in his travels, as described in the texts. The other manifestation is the “terrible” Bhairava, covered in ornaments with eight arms and his hands holding his characteristic attributes. His torso is festooned with Brahman threads (yajñopavīta).

 

Śiva is standing, his right leg straight and his left slightly bent, as if walking, both feet trampling Apasmārapuruṣa, the demon of ignorance incarnate, depicted on all fours and holding a dagger in his right hand.

 

The attributes held in his eight hands comply with the traditional iconography of Bhairava. The lower right hand, broken, seizes the trident (triśūla) shown in the upper part of the stela, while the second lower right hand seizes an arrow from a quiver held by Nandikeśvara, Shiva’s servant depicted with a bull’s head on a human body. The first upper right hand, open and raised to chest level, holds beads (akṣamālā), while the second upper right hand seizes a small drum (ḍamaru).

 

As for the left hands, the first lower holds the skull cup (kāpala) under which is depicted the head of a dog, its body fractured, come to lap up the drops of blood falling from the severed head of Brahma. The second lower left hand holds the baton (daṇḍa) or Khaṭvaṅga. The first upper left hand seizes a serpent while the second holds a bow.

 

The pink sandstone of our stela and its sculptural style, with its supple, slender shapes and harmonious volumes, can be attributed to the sculpture of the 10th century in the Uttar Pradesh region of northern India. The figure’s general silhouette, its facial traits and the treatment of the bun is somewhat reminiscent of the assistants in the two reliefs of the Los Angeles County Museum (Inv. M 79-9. 10 a-b. Pal, 1988, pp. 116-117, No. 45 a-b).

 

Provenance : Private collection, USA. Rossi and Rossi Ltd London, 1995.

Publication : Rossi & Rossi Catalogue, Sculpture from a sacred realm, 1995.

  • Mallmann, Marie-Thérèse, Les enseignements iconographiques de l’Agni-Purana, Paris : P.U.F., 1963.
  • Pal, Pratapaditya, Indian Sculpture, A Catalogue of the Los Angeles County Museum of Art Collection, 2, Los Angeles : Los Angeles County Museum of Art – Berkeley-London : University of California Press, 1988.

Śiva Bhairava Bhikṣāṭana-mūrti

Grès
Inde du Nord, Uttar Pradesh
IX – Xe siècle
H. 67 cm ou 26 ½ in

Catégorie : Étiquette :

Description

La stèle, taillée dans un grès rose aux grains fins, fréquemment rencontré dans la province de l’Uttar Pradesh, figure une représentation exceptionnelle du dieu Śiva sculptée en demi-ronde bosse se détachant d’un fond nu. Le schéma iconographique de cette stèle est rare. Il représente Śiva sous son aspect Bhairava Bhikṣāṭana-mūrti bien connu des textes, tel que du Kūrma Purāṇa, du Liṅga Purāṇa, du Brahmānda Purāṇa et du Śiva Tattvacintāmaṇi de Lakkaṇa Dandeśa : le récit le « Jeu de Śiva mendiant dansant » (Tāṇḍava – Bhikṣāṭana līlā).

La sculpture illustre, ici, les deux aspects de Śiva, l’aspect Bhikṣāṭana, nu au corps harmonieux, élancé, au visage paisible et rayonnant, aux cheveux nattés en chignon (jaṭā), aspect séduisant attirant toutes les femmes croisées au cours de ses pérégrinations tel qu’il est exposé dans les textes et l’aspect Bhairava « terrible » paré d’ornements et muni de huit bras et mains tenant les attributs qui le caractérise. Son torse est orné du cordon des brahmanes (yajñopavīta).

Śiva est figuré debout, la jambe droite tendue et la gauche légèrement fléchie figurant le mouvement de la marche, les deux pieds foulant Apasmārapuruṣa, le démon incarnant l’ignorance, représenté à quatre pattes tenant un poignard dans la main droite.

Les attributs tenus par les huit mains se conforment à l’iconographie traditionnelle de Bhairava. La main droite inférieure, fracturée, saisit le trident (triśūla) figuré dans la partie supérieure de la stèle, tandis que la seconde main droite inférieure saisit une flèche du carquois que soutient Nandikeśvara, serviteur de Śiva représenté avec une tête de taureau sur un corps humain. La première main droite supérieure, ouverte, levée au niveau de la poitrine tient un rosaire (akṣamālā), tandis que la seconde main droite supérieure saisit un petit tambour (ḍamaru).

Quant aux mains gauches, la première main inférieure tient la coupe crânienne (kāpala) sous laquelle est représentée la tête d’un chien, dont le corps est fracturé, venant recueillir avec son museau les gouttes de sang s’échappant de la tête coupée de Brahmā. La seconde main gauche inférieure tient le bâton (daṇḍa) ou le khaṭvaṅga. La première main gauche supérieure saisit un serpent, alors que la seconde tient un arc.

Le grès rose de notre stèle et son style de sculpture aux formes souples, élancées et aux volumes harmonieux peuvent être attribués à un travail sculptural réalisé au Xe siècle, en Inde du Nord, dans la région de l’Uttar Pradesh. La silhouette générale du personnage, les traits du visage et le traitement du chignon n’est pas sans évoquer les assistants de deux reliefs du Los Angeles County Museum (Inv. M 79-9. 10 a-b. Pal, 1988, p. 116-117, n° 45 a-b).

Provenance : Collection privée, Etats-Unis. Rossi et Rossi Ltd Londres 1995.

Publication : Catalogue Rossi & Rossi, Sculpture from a sacred realm, 1995.

  • Mallmann, Marie-Thérèse, Les enseignements iconographiques de l’Agni-Purana, Paris : P.U.F., 1963.
  • Pal, Pratapaditya, Indian Sculpture, A Catalogue of the Los Angeles County Museum of Art Collection, Vol. 2, Los Angeles : Los Angeles County Museum of Art – Berkeley-London : University of California Press, 1988.

Certificats

Télécharger