Ajitanātha

25 000,00

White marble
Western India, Gujarāt
11th-12th century
H. 77 cm or 30 ⅜ in

Category:

Description

Jainism, an Indian religion predating Buddhism
Jain sanctuaries have countless depictions of the Tirthaṅkara, also called Jina, omniscient beings who have broken free from the cycle of reincarnation. These extraordinary characters, twenty-four in number, of which there are twenty-four, existed down through the ages and are responsible for transmitting the foundations of Jain doctrine through the centuries. This doctrine predates Buddhism and one of its fundamental principles is non-violence (ahiṃsā), which applies to all creatures. This impressive stele represents Ajitanātha, the second of the twenty-four Jina.

Ajitanātha, the invincible master
Ajitanātha means “invincible”, he is the one who “never succumbed to material comforts or temptations, and was never defeated by heretics” (see Norton Simon Museum, notice M.1998.1.S). He stands in a pose that is proper to Jainism, called “kāyotsarga”: standing with his arms stretched out along his body, without touching it. The śrīvatsa, an auspicious symbol, is carved in the middle of his chest. Because he wears clothing, this Jina can be associated with the Jain order called Śvetāmbara. Under his feet, engraved on the base, we recognize his symbol, an elephant.

Divine Assembly
In the upper part, two elephants anoint the goddess Mahālakṣmī, also called Śrī, shown in the centre. They honoured Ajitanātha in the same way. This iconography refers to the abhiṣeka of Śrī, a devotional activity consisting in bringing blessing through the pouring of sacred water. This is a particularly auspicious theme common to Hinduism, Buddhism and Jainism. In the register directly below, the figuration of vidyādhara and gāndharva reinforces the positive character of the scene. Holding a lotus flower here, the vidyādhara are beings with magical powers living in a wonderful world and celebrating the deities by throwing them jewels or garlands. Their consorts make a gesture of approval with their right hand and were probably holding a vīṇā, an Indian musical instrument. They could therefore be two gāndharvī, celestial musicians beings. On either side of the Jina at his feet, two divine attendants accompany him, while a donor sits on his left as a prayer. In the register above, a majestic leogryph evokes the uprights of the divine thrones.

Jainism, a popular religion in Western India
The piece is characteristic of the medieval period in Gujarāt, in Western India, and its decorative refinement is quite remarkable. The side columns give a lot of elegance as does the lotus of the base, and the openwork is exceptional. In medieval times, Jain sculptors preferred white marble over all other stone because of its pure color. This is demonstrated by the many vast temples built on hilltops, as a destination for pilgrimage, such as Pārśvanātha in Gujarāt or Ranakpur and Mount Ābū in Rājasthān.

 

Provenance: Private collection, Luxembourg, formed from the 1980s.

Ajitanātha

25 000,00

Marbre blanc
Inde de l’Ouest, Gujarāt
XIe-XIIe siècle
H. 77 cm

Catégorie : Étiquette :

Description

Le jaïnisme, une religion indienne antérieure au bouddhisme
Les sanctuaires jaïnas comportent d’innombrables représentations des Tīrthaṅkara, appelés également Jina, êtres omniscients ayant échappé au cycle des réincarnations. Ces personnages hors norme, au nombre de vingt-quatre, s’égrènent durant toute l’histoire du monde et sont chargés de transmettre les fondements de la doctrine jaïne à travers les siècles. Celle-ci est antérieure au bouddhisme et l’un de ses principes fondamentaux est la non-violence (ahiṃsā), qui s’applique à toutes les créatures. Cette stèle de grande taille représente Ajitanātha, le deuxième des vingt-quatre Jina.

Ajitanātha, l’« invincible »
Ajitanātha signifie « invincible », il est celui qui n’a jamais succombé aux conforts matériels ou aux tentations, et n’a jamais été vaincu par les hérétiques. Il se tient dans une pose propre au jainisme, dite « kāyotsarga » : debout, les bras tendus le long du corps, sans le toucher. Le śrīvatsa, symbole auspicieux, est sculpté au milieu de sa poitrine. Parce qu’il porte des vêtements, ce Jina peut être associé à l’ordre du Jaïnisme Śvetāmbara. Sous ses pieds, gravé sur la base, on reconnait son symbole, un éléphant.

Assemblée sacrée
Dans la partie supérieure, deux éléphants ondoient la déesse Mahālakṣmī, également appelée Śrī, représentée au centre. Ils honorent de la même manière Ajitanātha. Cette iconographie renvoie à l’abhiṣeka de Śrī, activité dévotionnelle consistant à apporter la bénédiction par le versement d’eau sacrée. Il s’agit d’un thème particulièrement auspicieux, commun à l’hindouisme, au bouddhisme et au jaïnisme. Au registre en dessous, deux couples volants renforcent le caractère bienveillant de la scène. Les hommes sont des vidyādhara, êtres aux pouvoirs magiques vivant dans un monde merveilleux et lançant des joyaux ou des guirlandes aux divinités. Ils tiennent ici une fleur de lotus. Leurs compagnes esquissent de la main droite un geste d’approbation et tenaient probablement une vīṇā, un instrument de musique indien. Elles pourraient donc être des gāndharvī, des êtres célestes musiciens.
Aux pieds de part et d’autre du Jina, deux assistants divins l’accompagnent, tandis qu’un donateur est assis à sa gauche en position d’orant. Dans le registre au-dessus, un léogriffe majestueux évoque les montants des trônes divins.

Une religion populaire en Inde de l’Ouest
L’œuvre est caractéristique de la période médiévale au Gujarāt, en Inde de l’Ouest, et son raffinement décoratif est tout à fait remarquable. Les colonnettes latérales donnent beaucoup d’élégance tout comme le lotus du soubassement, et le travail de sculpture et d’ajours est exceptionnel. A l’époque médiévale, les sculpteurs jaïnas privilégient le marbre blanc à tout autre pierre en raison de sa couleur pure. En témoignent les vastes temples édifiés en grand nombre sur des collines, buts de pèlerinage, tels Pārśvanātha au Gujarāt ou Ranakpur et le Mont Ābū au Rājasthān.

 

Provenance : Collection privée, Luxembourg, constituée à partir des années 1980.