Buddha Śākyamuni statue

32 000,00

Grey schist
Ancient Gandhāra region
2nd-3rd century
H: 66 cm or 26 in

Detailed file

360° View

Loading...

 

Category: Tag:

Description

The Śākyamuni Buddha

This superb sculpture comes from the ancient region of Gandhara (Afghanistan, Pakistan), and represents the Buddha standing. The Blessed One can be recognized by his monastic costume covering both shoulders here, and the circular mandorla behind his head; but especially by the lakṣaṇa, distinctive marks or signs of the Śākyamuni Buddha, including the cranial protuberance (uṣṇīṣa), the tuft of hair between the eyes (ūrṇā), and his distended earlobes, revealing his former wealth. The right arm is fragmentary, but his hand would have been sketching the gesture of fearlessness (abhaya mudrā), palm facing outward and fingers extended. This iconography is conventional for depicting the historical Buddha and becomes fixed in the early centuries of our era, when the anthropomorphic representation of the Buddha appears.

 

An art at the crossroads of civilizations

This sculpture is characteristic of the art of the Gandhāra region, notably by the drapery with concentric folds, held in one hand by the Buddha, which shows a Hellenistic influence testifying to the exchanges and contacts of civilizations. This is what the historian Alfred Foucher has established as Greco-Buddhist art: a syncretic art born in Gandhāra, thanks to the encounter between the Greek, Persian and Indian worlds, notably through the caravan trade and the Silk Road. We thus find all the characteristic qualities of this region, combining the finesse of Hellenistic realism and the iconographic codes of the Buddhist religion.

 

A remarkable know-how

The round and full face, of great gentleness and serenity, the half-closed eyelids, the straight nose, the small fleshy mouth as well as the use of schist testify to an art perfectly mastered in its making, underlined by its excellent state of preservation. This remarkable sculpture probably took place in one of the two spaces of Gandhāra monasteries: a courtyard accessible to devotees and cluttered with all sorts of ex-voto monuments, such as reliquary mounds (stūpa) and chapels, and, beyond that, a space reserved for monks only. It is therefore a unique and powerful work, carrying a thousand-year-old history.

Provenance : This piece comes from a former Japanese collection, since 1980, then from an English private collection since 2003.

Statue de Buddha Śākyamuni

38 000,00

Schiste
Ancienne région du Gandhāra
IIe-IIIe siècle
H. 66 cm
 

Dossier détaillé 

Vue à 360°

Loading...

Catégorie :

Description

Le Buddha Śākyamuni

Cette superbe sculpture provient de l’ancienne région du Gandhara (Afghanistan, Pakistan), et représente le Buddha debout. On reconnait le Bienheureux à son costume monastique lui couvrant ici les deux épaules, et à la mandorle circulaire derrière sa tête ; mais surtout aux lakṣaṇa, marques ou signes distinctifs du Buddha Śākyamuni, notamment la protubérance crânienne (uṣṇīṣa), la touffe de poils entre les yeux (ūrṇā) et ses lobes d’oreilles distendus, révélant sa richesse passée. Le bras droit est fragmentaire, mais sa main devait esquisser le geste d’absence de crainte (abhaya mudrā), paume tournée vers l’extérieur et doigts tendus. Cette iconographie est conventionnelle pour représenter le Buddha historique et se fixe aux premiers siècles de notre ère, lorsque la représentation anthropomorphe du Buddha apparaît.

 

Un art à la croisée des civilisations

Cette sculpture est caractéristique de l’art de la région du Gandhāra, notamment par le drapé aux plis concentriques, retenu d’une main par le Buddha, qui relève d’une influence hellénistique témoignant des échanges et contacts de civilisations. C’est ce que l’historien Alfred Foucher a établi comme étant l’art gréco-bouddhique : un art syncrétique né au Gandhāra, à la faveur de la rencontre entre les mondes grec, perse, et indien, notamment grâce au commerce caravanier et la Route de la Soie. On retrouve donc toutes les qualités caractéristiques de cette région, alliant la finesse du réalisme hellénistique et les codes iconographiques de la religion bouddhique.

 

Un savoir-faire remarquable

Le visage rond et plein, d’une grande douceur et d’une grande sérénité, les paupières mi-closes, le nez droit, la petite bouche charnue ainsi que l’usage du schiste témoignent d’un art parfaitement maîtrisé dans sa facture, souligné par son excellent état de conservation. Cette remarquable sculpture prenait probablement place dans un des deux espaces des monastères du Gandhāra : une cour accessible aux dévots et encombrée de toutes sortes de monuments ex-voto, tels que des tumulus reliquaires (stūpa) et des chapelles, et, au-delà, un espace réservé aux seuls moines. Il s’agit donc là d’une œuvre unique et puissante, porteuse d’une histoire millénaire.

 

Provenance : Ancienne collection japonaise depuis 1980. Ancienne collection privée anglaise, acquis au Japon en 2003.