Maitreya

25 000,00

Schist
Ancient province of Gandhāra
2nd-3rd century
H. 25 cm or 9 ⅞ in

Category:

Description

MMaitreya, the future Buddha
The Bodhisattva Maitreya, the object of all devotion, is depicted here sitting on a throne, awaiting the next cosmic period when he will become the historic Buddha (manuśi buddha in the Mahāyāna). He is identified by the lustral water vessel (kuṇḍikā) he holds in his left hand, and make the “no fear” gesture with his raised right hand (abhaya mudrā). He is dressed like an Indian prince, his torso bare, a piece of his clothing (uttarīya) covering his left shoulder, wearing rich jewelry and a particularly elaborate headdress. Maitreya is a very important Bodhisattva and recognized by all forms of Buddhism. He might be the first whose iconography is established in the region of Gandhāra. Like the other Bodhisattva, he is “promised to Enlightenment” and out of compassion refuses supreme enlightenment until the totality of the suffering creatures that populate the phenomenal world accompanying them.

A strong devotion
Maitreya appears surrounded by a group that honors and worships him. Directly to his left stands a woman holding a spear in her left hand and probably a fly-whisk in her right hand. She is represented like the female guardians silently watching in some scenes of the life of the Historic Buddha Siddhārta, in Gandhāran art. Her presence emphasizes Maitreya’s sovereign character. A small figure in the back listens to the bodhisattva’s preaching, while on the left stand three rich devotees wearing heavy earrings, who have come to pay homage to him. The first man is dressed in a long-sleeved tunic and his long hair undulates to the shoulders with some of the locks tied in a loose bun. Behind him, two donors bring offerings. Their distinctive tonsures and clothing suggest that they are strangers. Finally, a monk, shown on the pillar that closes the scene, respectfully bows with hands joined together. This assembly was complemented by other devotees standing behind the female guardian.

 

An incredible fusion of motifs
The art of Gandhāra has a number of regional styles and without prejudging its exact origin, this relief is part of the most accomplished production. The various influences blend harmoniously. The pillar with a Corinthian capital of Hellenistic origin, the tonsures and clothing of the devotees coming perhaps from Central Asia, the elaborated feminine headdress typically Indian: this stele reflects the incredible cosmopolitanism that characterizes this art. We can also mention the rich jewels of the Bodhisattva, from the Sub-Continent, next to beautiful draped fabric, some treated with a graphic design that could be compared to Parthian sculptures.

 

Provenance : Private collection , USA, acquired from Sotheby’s New York in 1991.

P641 Dossier détaillé EN

Maitreya

25 000,00

Schiste
Ancienne province du Gandhāra
IIe-IIIe siècle
H. 25 cm

Catégorie : Étiquette :

Description

Maitreya, le Buddha du Futur
Faisant l’objet de toutes les dévotions, le bodhisattva Maitreya est ici figuré assis, trônant et attendant la prochaine période cosmique dont il deviendra le Buddha historique (manuśi buddha dans le Mahāyāna). Il est reconnaissable grâce à l’aiguière (kuṇḍikā) d’eau lustrale qu’il tient dans sa main gauche, et devait accomplir de sa main droite levée le geste d’absence de crainte (abhaya mudrā). Il est vêtu comme un prince indien, le torse nu, un pan de son vêtement (uttarīya) couvrant l’épaule gauche, paré de riches bijoux et la coiffure particulièrement élaborée. Bodhisattva très important et reconnu par tous les courants du bouddhisme, Maitreya est peut-être le premier dont l’iconographie se fixera au Gandhāra. Comme les autres bodhisattva, il est « promis à l’Eveil » et refuse par compassion l’illumination suprême sans que la totalité des créatures souffrantes qui peuplent le monde phénoménal ne les accompagnent.

Une dévotion manifeste
Maitreya apparaît entouré d’une assemblée qui l’honore et le révère. Directement à sa gauche se tient une femme tenant une lance de sa main gauche et probablement un chasse-mouche de sa main droite. Elle est représentée à l’image des gardiennes surveillant silencieusement de nombreux épisodes de la vie du Buddha historique, Siddhārta, dans l’art du Gandhāra. Sa présence souligne le caractère souverain de Maitreya. Un petit personnage écoute à l’arrière le prêche du bodhisattva, tandis qu’à gauche se tiennent trois riches dévots parés de lourds pendants d’oreilles, venus lui rendre hommage. Le premier homme est vêtu d’une tunique aux manches longues et ses longs cheveux ondulent jusqu’aux épaules avec une partie des mèches nouées en chignon souple. Derrière lui, deux donateurs apportent des offrandes. Leurs tonsures et vêtements distinctifs laissent penser qu’il s’agit d’étrangers. Enfin, un moine figuré sur le pilier qui clôt la scène, s’incline respectueusement les mains jointes. Cette assemblée était complétée par d’autres dévots se tenant derrière la gardienne.

Une incroyable fusion des motifs
L’art du Gandhāra possède nombre de styles régionaux et sans préjuger de sa provenance effective, ce relief participe de la production la plus accomplie. Les influences diverses se mêlent avec harmonie. Pilier au chapiteau corinthien d’origine hellénistique, tonsures et vêtements des dévots peut-être d’Asie centrale, coiffure féminine élaborée typiquement indienne : cette stèle reflète l’incroyable cosmopolitisme qui caractérise cet art. On peut encore citer les riches bijoux du bodhisattva, issus du Sous-Continent, qui voisinent avec de beaux drapés traités parfois avec un certain graphisme que l’on pourrait rapprocher des sculptures parthes.

 

Provenance : Collection privée américaine, acquise chez Sotheby’s New York en 1991.

P641 Dossier détaillé FR