Mahālakṣmī

15 000,00

Alabaster
India, Gujarāt or Rājasthān
Circa 10th century
H. 58 cm

Category:

Description

This formidable niche frame from the medieval period (around the 10th century) must be understood in a Jain context, probably in the Indian region of Gujarāt or that of Rājasthān. The smooth appearance of the alabaster, the profusion of decoration combining figurative, architectural and geometric motifs, and the substantial size of the piece (58 cm high or 22 ⅞ in), all this give this work an extremely decorative character.

This piece has incredible aesthetic and decorative power. Sculpted in high relief, an openwork has been carved behind each element creating a real stone lace. The depth is manifest between the limbs of the small deities, catching the light and increasing the volumes. The style is refined, detailed and the decorative profusion is balanced by empty spaces which are arranged to concentrate our eye under the niche, where the sacred figure was. Every detail is signified with remarkable precision: in the upper part we particularly like the succession of elements, both geometric and floral, creating a wheel shape and following this curve drawn by the dynamic movement of the participants of the sacred assembly (samavasaraṇa) who listen to the preaching of the now disappeared Jina.

In the upper part, two elephants anoint the goddess Mahālakṣmī, also called Śrī, shown in the centre. They honoured the main deity in the same way. This iconography refers to the abhiṣeka of Śrī, a devotional activity consisting in bringing blessing through the pouring of sacred water. This is a particularly auspicious theme common to Hinduism, Buddhism and Jainism.

In the register directly below, the figuration of vidyādhara and gāndharva reinforces the positive character of the scene. Holding a lotus flower here, the vidyādhara are beings with magical powers living in a wonderful world and celebrating the deities by throwing them jewels or garlands. Behind each of them, under a miniature architecture stands a gāndharva, a celestial musician being, here a flute player and a vīṇā player, an Indian musical instrument.

Surrounding the central deity, two fly-whisk bearer (chauri) ensure that nothing distracts the Jina.

 

Provenance: Private collection, France.

Mahālakṣmī

15 000,00

Albâtre
Inde, Gujarāt ou Rājasthān
Circa Xe siècle
H. 58 cm

Catégorie : Étiquette :

Description

Ce formidable encadrement de niche de l’époque médiévale (Xe siècle environ) est à replacer dans un contexte jaïn, probablement dans la région indienne du Gujarāt ou celle du Rājasthān. L’aspect lisse de l’albâtre, la profusion du décor mêlant à la fois motifs figuratifs, architecturaux et géométriques, le tout d’une taille conséquente (58 cm de hauteur) donnent à cette œuvre un caractère extrêmement décoratif.

Cette pièce possède un incroyable pouvoir esthétique et décoratif. Sculptée en haut-relief, des ajours ont été aménagés derrière chaque élément créant une véritable dentelle de pierre. La profondeur est manifeste au niveau des corps des petites divinités, permettant d’accrocher la lumière et d’augmenter les volumes. Le style est fignolé, détaillé et à la profusion décorative répondent des espaces vides qui sont aménagés pour concentrer notre œil sous la niche, où devait ressortir le personnage sacré. Chaque détail est signifié avec une précision remarquable : on aime tout particulièrement dans la partie supérieure la succession d’éléments à la fois géométriques et floraux, créant une forme de roue et suivant cette courbe dessinée par le mouvement dynamique des participants de l’assemblée sacrée (samavasaraṇa) qui écoutent les prêches du Jina aujourd’hui disparu.

Dans la partie supérieure, deux éléphants ondoient la déesse Mahālakṣmī, également appelée Śrī, représentée au centre. Ils honoraient de la même manière la divinité principale. Cette iconographie renvoie à l’abhiṣeka de Śrī, activité dévotionnelle consistant à apporter la bénédiction par le versement d’eau sacrée. Il s’agit d’un thème particulièrement auspicieux, commun à l’hindouisme, au bouddhisme et au jaïnisme.

Au registre directement en dessous, la figuration de vidyādhara et gāndharva renforce le caractère bienveillant de la scène. Tenant ici une fleur de lotus, les vidyādhara sont des êtres aux pouvoirs magiques vivant dans un monde merveilleux et lançant des joyaux ou des guirlandes aux divinités. Derrière chacun d’eux, se tient sous une architecture miniature un gāndharva, un être céleste musicien, ici joueur de flûte et de vīṇā, un instrument de musique indien.

Entourant la divinité centrale enfin, deux porteurs de chasse-mouches (chauri) veillent à ce que rien ne vienne distraire le Jina.

 

Provenance : Collection privée, France.