Mahācīna-Tārā

30 000,00

Bronze
Nepal
15th century
H. 15 cm

Category:

Description

This goddess in a frightening form has four arms holding various attributes, common to fierce deities: the cleaver (kartrikā) and the skull cup (kapāla) in the main hands; the sword (khaḍga) and an object difficult to identify in the second pair of hands. By comparison, one could assume that it is a bleeding heart, torn off with shreds of arteries and veins from the chest of an unholy man. The deity stands on a triangular sacrificial area where a corpse lies, all on a blooming lotus flower.

The goddess is named Mahācīna-Tārā and testifies to the syncretic Buddhist and Hindu tantric cults in Newar country. She is also known as Prajṅādevī. She is part of the group of 21 Tārā but is also assimilated to Prajṅāpāramitā. The legend that deals with the origin of her cult includes both Buddhist and Hindu elements. The wise Vasistha could not visualize the goddess Tārā and asked for the advice of his spiritual master, the god Brahmā. However, the goddess eventually appeared to him and ordered him to go to Mahācīna in order to meet Buddha, the ultimate avatara of Viṣṇu. Thus, at the place called Mahācīna, he was able to pay tribute to Tārā, which appeared to him under this specific iconography (Mahācīna Tārā). She is sometimes confused with the dreaded Ekajatī.

Representations of this goddess are rare. The piece commented here is almost identical to a statuette once exhibited at the Marco Polo Gallery in Paris and reproduced by Ulrich von Schroeder (1981, p.366-367, n°99E). In addition to many details, the bases of the two deities are very similar, supported in the corners by square feet decorated with lions. The four doors of the yantra are treated as “hors d’oeuvres” i.e. as projecting structures. Below each of them, a carpet is scrolled and richly crafted.

Ulrich von Schroeder dates the statue to the 15th century, a period that saw the division of the Kāthmāndu valley in 1479, the beginning of the recent Malla period. Artistically, this century saw the extension of the great art of the ancient Malla (1200-1479) but often with a more decorative rendering and a tendency towards extreme iconographic diversification that would triumph in the 16th century. On the piece that we are discussing, we must mention the finesse of certain details such as the head of the feline skin tied around the waist of the goddess

 

Biblioagraphy: Schroeder, Ulrich von, Indo-Tibetan bronzes. Hong Kong: Visual Dharma Publications, 1981.

Mahācīna-Tārā

30 000,00

Bronze
Népal
XVe siècle
H. 15 cm

Catégorie : Étiquette :

Description

Cette déesse à l’aspect courroucé possède quatre bras portant divers attributs habituels des divinités farouches : le couperet (kartrikā) et la coupe crânienne (kapāla) dans les mains principales ; le glaive (khaḍga) et un objet difficilement identifiable dans la deuxième paire de mains. Par comparaison, on pourrait supposer qu’il s’agisse d’un cœur saignant, arraché avec des lambeaux d’artères et de veines de la poitrine d’un impie. La déité est debout sur une aire sacrificielle triangulaire portant un cadavre, le tout sur une fleur de lotus épanouie.

La déesse porte le nom de Mahācīna-Tārā et témoigne des cultes tantriques syncrétiques bouddhistes et hindous en pays newar. Elle porte également le nom de Prajṅādevī. Elle participe du groupe des 21 Tārā mais est également assimilée à Prajṅāpāramitā. La légende qui traite de l’origine de son culte comprend des éléments tant bouddhiques qu’hindous. Le sage Vasistha ne parvenait pas à visualiser la déesse Tārā et demanda les conseils de son maître spirituel, le dieu Brahmā. La déesse cependant finit par lui apparaître et lui prescrit d’aller à Mahācīna afin d’y rencontrer Buddha, ultime avatara de Viṣṇu. Ainsi, sur le lieu appelé Mahācīna, il put rendre hommage à Tārā, qui lui apparut sous cette iconographie spécifique (Mahācīna Tārā). Elle est parfois confondue avec la redoutable Ekajatī.

Les représentations de cette déesse sont rares. La pièce ici commentée est quasi identique à une statuette autrefois présente à la galerie Marco Polo à Paris et reproduite par Ulrich von Schroeder (1981, p.366-367, n°99E). Outre de nombreux détails, les socles des deux déités sont très proches, supportés dans les angles par des pieds carrés ornés de lions. Les quatre portes du yantra sont traitées en hors d’œuvre. En dessous de chacune d’entre elles, retombe un tapis ouvragé au profil chantourné.

Ulrich von Schroeder date la statuette du XVe siècle, époque qui voit le partage de la vallée de Kāthmāndu en 1479, début de la période du Malla récent. Artistiquement, ce siècle voit la prolongation du grand art du Malla ancien (1200-1479) mais souvent avec un rendu plus décoratif et une tendance à une diversification iconographique extrême qui triomphera au XVIe siècle. Sur la pièce qui nous occupe, il faut mentionner la finesse de certains détails telle la tête de la peau de félin qui ceint la taille de la déesse

Ouvrage cité : Schroeder, Ulrich von, Indo-Tibetan bronzes. Hong-Kong: Visual Dharma Publications, 1981.