Ganeśa

6 000,00

Bronze
Eastern India
Pala period, 10th century
H. 8 cm

Category:

Description

Made in bronze and dated from the 10th century, the piece comes from Eastern India in the heart of the Pala kingdom and is 8 cm high. Well-known as the elephant-headed god, Ganeśa is one of the most popular gods in the Hindu pantheon, as can be seen by the great number of replicas throughout the Subcontinent. He is worshiped fervently by all: both lower castes and Brahmans, who offer up a prayer to him before every ceremony.

 

Light is a metaphor for wisdom: Ganeśa, the god of knowledge, removes obstacles and makes rituals, as well as any human undertaking, run smoothly. He is therefore particularly worshiped on this festive day.

As usual, this beautiful bronze depicts the god with a protuberant belly and sitting in lalitasana. From his first right hand he holds a round sweet, while with his second left hand he brandishes the ax that serves to destroy all negative forces. He has only one tusk because he broke off the second to transcribe the epic saga of the Mahābhārata.

 

Characteristic of the Pala period, the details of the face and the hairstyle in ascetic bun are finely rendered. A worshiper in a praying position kneels at his feet.

 

Provenance : Private collection, Germany.

Art Loss Register Certificate, ref. S00092046

Ganeśa

6 000,00

Bronze
Inde de l’Est
Période Pala, Xe siècle
H. 8 cm

Catégorie : Étiquette :

Description

Réalisé en bronze et daté du Xème siècle, l’œuvre provient de l’Inde de l’Est au cœur du royaume Pala et mesure 8 cm. Dieu bien connu à tête d’éléphant, Ganeśa est l’un des plus populaires du panthéon hindou comme l’attestent ses représentations innombrables dans tout le Sous-Continent. Il reçoit un culte fervent de la part de tous, tant des basses castes que des brâhmanes qui, entre autres, lui adressent une prière avant chaque cérémonie.

La lumière est une métaphore de la sagesse : Ganeśa, dieu du savoir, lève les obstacles pour le bon déroulement des rituels comme de toute entreprise humaine. Il est donc particulièrement vénéré en ce jour si festif.

Comme de coutume, ce joli bronze représente le dieu avec un ventre protubérant, assis en pose lalitasana. De sa première main droite il tient une boulette de sucrerie dont il raffole, tandis que de sa seconde main gauche il brandit la hache qui lui sert à détruire les obstacles. Il ne possède qu’une seule défense car il coupa la seconde pour transcrire la grande épopée du Mahābhārata.

Caractéristique de l’époque Pala, les détails du visage et de la coiffure en chignon d’ascète sont finement exécutés. Un petit adorateur en position d’orant est agenouillé à ses pieds.

 

Provenance : Collection privée, Allemagne.

Art Loss Register Certificate, ref. S00092046