Ekamukhaliṅgaṃ

32 000,00

Red sandstone
Northern India
Circa 5th century
H. 36 cm or 14 ⅛ in

Category:

Description

This remarkable Ekamukhaliṅgaṃ is an artwork with an essential and seductive iconography but also quite puzzling. Typical of the great Gupta period, this impressive sculpture of Northern India made of red sandstone is dated around the 5th century and is 36 cm high (or 14 ⅛ in).

Taking different forms (mūrti), the great Hindu god Śiva manifests itself here in his fundamental aspect, the liṅgaṃ. Cylindrical in shape, this is the phallic and stylized symbol of the god, and it embodies his vital force and creative power. This representation is here enriched by the face of the god (ekamukhaliṅgaṃ), appearing smiling and peaceful.

We find in this finely carved face the sweet humanity so valued in Gupta sculpture. The meditative expression is very present with great sensitivity in the treatment of the slightly prominent eyes, underlined by arched eyebrows and half-open eyelids, and in the smooth carving of the rather wide nose and fleshy lips. It is worth noting the beautiful definition of the braided hair strands brought back in a bun, the typical one of ascetics (jaṭāmukuṭa), some of whose braids fall back behind the ears adorned with rich jewels. Śiva’s third frontal eye is still visible, and he wears a necklace with large pearls that underline the graceful lines of the three beauty folds of the neck.

Installed in the innermost sanctum of a temple dedicated to Śiva, the liṅgaṃ was used primarily by Brahman priests who performed rituals in honor of the god as the ultimate creator of the world. Few liṅgaṃ from the Gupta period and of such quality have been preserved. It is interesting to compare this piece with a very similar one but slightly smaller in size and in a poorer condition, currently on display at the Rietberg Museum in Zurich (Inv.-Nr. RVI 111) and reproduced here. Another liṅgaṃ belongs to the collections of the Victoria & Albert Museum in London (IS.10-1969).

 

Provenance: Private collection, UK.

Ekamukhaliṅgaṃ

32 000,00

Grès rouge
Inde du nord
Circa Ve siècle
H. 36 cm

Catégorie : Étiquette :

Description

Ce remarquable Ekamukhaliṅgaṃ est une œuvre à l’iconographie capitale et séduisante mais aussi déroutante. Typique de la grande période Gupta, cette impressionnante sculpture de l’Inde du Nord réalisée en grès rose est datée du Ve siècle environ et mesure 36 cm de hauteur.

Pouvant prendre différentes formes (mūrti), le grand dieu hindou Śiva se manifeste ici selon son aspect fondamental : celui du liṅgaṃ. Symbole phallique et stylisé du dieu, de forme cylindrique, il incarne sa force vitale et sa puissance créatrice. Cette représentation est ici enrichie du visage du dieu (ekamukhaliṅgaṃ), apparaissant souriant et paisible.

On retrouve la douce humanité si appréciée de la sculpture gupta. L’expression méditative est très présente avec une grande sensibilité dans le traitement des yeux légèrement proéminents, soulignés par des sourcils arqués et des paupières à demi baissées, du nez assez large et des lèvres charnues. Il faut noter la belle définition des mèches de cheveux tressées ramenées en un chignon, celui typique des ascètes (jaṭāmukuṭa), et dont certaines tresses retombent derrière les oreilles parées de riches boucles. Son troisième œil frontal est encore visible et il porte un collier aux larges perles qui soulignent l’arrondi gracieux des trois plis de beauté du cou.

Installé dans un sanctuaire d’un temple dédié à Śiva, le liṅgaṃ était utilisé principalement par des prêtres brahmanes qui accomplissaient des rituels en l’honneur du dieu, en tant que créateur ultime du monde. Peu de liṅgaṃ de la période Gupta et d’une telle qualité ont été conservés. Il est intéressant de comparer cette pièce avec une œuvre très similaire mais moins bien préservée et légèrement plus petite, actuellement en exposition au Rietberg Museum de Zürich (Inv.-Nr. RVI 111) et reproduite ci-contre. Un autre liṅgaṃ se trouve au Victoria & Albert Museum de Londres (IS.10-1969).

 

Provenance : Collection privée, Royaume-Uni.