Vyala

14 000,00

Sandstone
India
11th-12th centuries
H. 59 cm

360° view

Loading...

Category:

Description

A skilfully composed battle scene

Sculpted in very high relief, this sculpture with openwork motifs represents a combat scene between a Vyāla and a small character. The Vyāla is a mythical animal, widely represented in India, and is a graceful-looking creature.

Its piercing gaze, its powerful jaw and its tail ending in a flame are all elements that contribute to the ferocity that emanates from this animal. The details of its mouth are strongly protruding, thus contributing to the vigour of the representation.

The contorted, curved body of this Vyāla wears a pearl necklace and its mane is clearly visible. The animal appears to be in motion, its position is dynamic, arched and proud. It seems to be fighting with the figure present, whose hand is in the animal’s jaw, while it seems to be struggling. This position also gives it a very graceful, almost dancing movement and makes it look as if it too is participating in the fight.

 

The Vyāla, emblem of the Indian fantasy repertoire

This piece is typical of the architectural reliefs that adorned Indian temples in medieval times. Often placed in the recesses of the walls outside the temples, the Vyāla reliefs also supported cornices. Their prophylactic function, brings protection to the faithful when they perform their ritual tour of the temple. A symbol of royalty and strength, this characteristic iconography would have adorned a pillar of a mandapa – a hall with columns – or a Hindu temple gallery.

 

A refined aesthetic magnifying religious architecture

Carved in very high relief, this Vyāla is a fine example of the ornamental sculpture of the period. The work gives an impression of fluidity and ease in the movements of its protagonists. This impression is reinforced by the play of light and shadow provided by the high relief and the openings, which bring contrast and vigour to the scene. We admire the undulating gestures that perfectly convey the power of the animal and the great agility of the character.

Vyala

14 000,00

Grès
Inde
XI-XII èmes siècles
H. 59 cm

Vue à 360°

Loading...

Catégorie : Étiquette :

Description

Une scène de combat savamment composée

Sculptée en très haut-relief, cette sculpture aux motifs ajourés, représente une scène de combat entre un Vyāla et un petit personnage. Animal mythique, très représenté en Inde, le Vyāla est une créature à l’apparence gracieuse.

Son regard perçant, sa mâchoire puissante, et sa queue se terminant par une flamme, sont autant d’éléments qui concourent à la férocité se dégageant de cet animal. Les détails de sa gueule sont en forte saillie, participant ainsi à la vigueur de la représentation.

Le corps contorsionné, tout en courbes, ce Vyāla porte un collier de perles et sa crinière est bien visible. L’animal apparait en mouvement, sa position est dynamique, cambrée et fière. Il semble se battre avec le personnage présent, dont la main est dans la mâchoire de l’animal, tandis qu’il semble se débattre. Cette position lui confère également un mouvement très gracieux, presque dansant et lui donne l’air lui aussi, de participer au combat.

 

Le Vyāla, emblème du répertoire fantastique indien

Cette pièce est typique des reliefs architecturaux qui ornaient les temples indiens à l’époque médiévale. Souvent placées dans les redans des murs à l’extérieur des temples, les reliefs de Vyāla, supportaient également des corniches. Leur fonction prophylactique, apporte protection aux fidèles lorsqu’ils effectuent leur tour rituel du temple. Symbole de royauté, et de force, cette iconographie caractéristique devait orner un pilier de mandapa – salle à colonnes – ou de galerie de temple hindou.

 

Une esthétique déliée magnifiant l’architecture religieuse

Sculpté en très haut-relief, ce Vyāla est un bel exemple de la sculpture ornementale de l’époque. L’œuvre procure une impression de fluidité et d’aisance dans les mouvements de ses protagonistes. Cette impression est d’ailleurs renforcée par le jeu d’ombres et de lumières permis par le haut-relief et les ajours, apportant ainsi contraste et vigueur à la scène. On admire les gestes ondulants qui retranscrivent parfaitement la puissance de l’animal ainsi que la grande agilité du personnage.

 

Provenance : Collection privée française.