Mahāvajrabhairava

18 000,00

Tempera on canvas
Tibet
18th century
D. 73 x 50 cm or 28 ¾ in

Category:

Description

In Tibetan Buddhism, Mahavajrabhairava, “the Great and Diamond-like Ferocious One”, is one of the eight main guardians of the doctrine.  The fierce aspect of the bodhisattva Manjushri, this deity “subjugates Yama” and “vanquishes death” (Yamantaka).  He is sometimes designated by this latter name in bibliographies.  The god is said to have been able to extinguish the fire of passions and dissipate the obscurity born of error, two things necessary before being freed.  He was promoted to the rank of tutelary deity (Yidam), among others, by the dGe-lugs-pa monks.  Iconography depicts him as a particularly terrifying being.  Of his nine multicolored heads, the bull’s head contrasts with the other fierce heads as well as the peaceful face of Manjushri at the top of the pyramid.

 

The god is holding his companion Vetali.  With his thirty-four arms, he wields various weapons and macabre trophies.  His two main hands hold the cleaver and the skull cup.  The other hands in the center right:  the arrow, spear, hatchet, spear encircled by a snake, a bouquet of peacock feathers and one end of an elephant’s hide.  In the right rear hands:  the hour-glass drum with striking balls, sword, hammer, “diamond-lightning”, a pike with a vajra on top, trident, sledgehammer with the vajra on the end and a hatchet.  In the center left hands:  the bell, triple head of the Hindu god Brahma and the other end of the elephant hide.  In the left rear hands:  the baton, a flower, the menacing gesture, a sacrificial area, an impaled man, the menaing gesture and a human arm.

 

All around are various protectors of the religion (dharmapala).  For instance, above the right shoulder we recognize Mahakala in his Sadbhuja aspect, the most common one.  To match him, above the left shoulder, stands a more rare form of the god:  the six-armed Sitacintamani, holding the jewel in his main hand, said to be the protective god of Emperor Qianlong (1736-1795).  Lower down, on the left, the ascetic Mahakala Brahmanarupadhara prepares to blow a trumpet of human bone.  Across fom him, the goddess dPan-Idan lha-mo rides her mule.  Below that, from left to right, are Kuvera, the god of the treasures of the world, holding a pouch of mongoose skin overflowing with jewels; Yama, the god of death, with his arm around his incestuous sister Yami, standing on a bull; and finally Beg-tse preparing to eat the bleeding heart freshly ripped from the chest of a sinner.

 

Finally, at the bottom of the image, ridesrDor-je bse’i-krab-can, gesticulating with a baton to scare off the hordes of demons, and Phying-dhar-ba, god of one of the mountains of Amdo, the native region of the reformer Tsong-kha-pa (1357-1419), white-faced and wielding a spear.

 

At the top, Vajradhara, the supreme buddha, is surrounded by two senior figures of dGe-lugs-pa.

 

The painting is part of the apogee of the sMan-bris style (circa 1650-1750), delicately gilded.  The particularly dark shades liken it to the famous black Thang-kas (Nag-thang), reserved for the fierce deities that spring from the darkness like phantoms.

Provenance: Bortolot Collection. Navin Kumar Gallery, New York, October 1990.

HAR – Himalayanart.org/items/61457

Mahāvajrabhairava

Pigments à la détrempe sur toile.
Tibet
XVIIIe siècle
D. 73 x 50 cm ou 28 ¾ in

Catégorie : Étiquette :

Description

Dans le bouddhisme tibétain, Mahāvajrabhairava,”le Grand farouche adamantin”, fait partie du groupe des huit principaux gardiens de la doctrine. Aspect farouche du bodhisattva Maṅjuśrī, cette divinité “subjugue Yama” et “extermine la mort” (Yamāntaka). C’est sous cette dernière épithète qu’il est parfois désigné dans la bibliographie. La déité est reputé éteindre le feu des passions et dissiper l’obscurité née de l’erreur, deux préalables à l’obtention de la libération. Il sera promu au rang de divinité tutélaire (Yi-dam) entre autres par les moines dGe-lugs-pa. L’iconographie le représente sous une forme particulièrement terrifiante. Parmi les neuf têtes multicolores, le mufle taurin contraste tout à la fois avec les autres chefs farouches et le visage paisible de Maṅjuśrī au sommet de la pyramide.

Le dieu enlace sa compagne Vetali. De ses trente-quatre bras, il brandit diverses armes et trophées macabres. Les deux mains principales tiennent le couperet et la coupe crânienne. Les autres mains au centre droit: la flèche, la lance, la hache, la lance entourée d’un serpent, un coutelas, une colonne vertébrale raidie formant sceptre, un bouquet de plumes de paon et l’extrémité d’une peau écorchée d’un éléphant ; dans les mains arrières droites : le tambour-sablier à boules fouettantes, le glaive, le marteau, le « foudre-diamant », une pique surmonté du vajra, le trident, une masse sommée du vajra et une hache ; les mains au centre gauche : la clochette, le geste de menace, une racine, une jambe humaine, la roue, le triple tête du dieu hindou Brahma et l’autre extrémité de la peau d’éléphant; les mains arrières gauches : le bâton, une fleur, le geste de menace, une aire sacrificielle, un homme empalé, le geste de menace et un bras humain.

Tout autour se tiennent divers protecteurs de la religion (dharmapāla). Ainsi au-dessus de l’épaule droite, on reconnaît Mahākāla sous son aspect Saḍbhuja, le plus courant. Lui faisant pendant, au-dessus de l’épaule gauche, on remarque une forme plus rare du dieu, Sitacintāmaṇi, debout à six bras, tenant le joyau dans la main principale, attribué à l’Empereur Qianlong (1736-1795) comme divinité protectrice. Plus bas, à gauche, Mahākāla Brāhmanarūpadhara, en ascète, s’apprête à souffler dans une trompe faite en os humain. Lui faisant pendat, la déesse dPan-ldan lha-mo chevauche sa mule. En dessous, on reconnait, de gauche à droite, le dieu des richesses Kuvera, tenant la bourse en peau de mangouste crachant des joyaux, Yama le dieu de la mort, enlace par sa soeur incestueuse Yamī, debout le taureau, enfin Beg-tse portant à ses lèvres le coeur saignant fraichement arraché de la poitrine d’un impie.

Enfin tout en bas de la composition, chevauchent rDor-je bse’i-krab-can, faisant tournoyée un bâton pour disperser des hordes de démons, et Phying-dkar-ba, dieu d’une montagne de l’Am-do, région où est né le réformateur Tsong-kha-pa (1357-1419), blanc de complexion et brandissant une lance.

En haut de la composition, Vajradhara, buddha suprême, est entouré par deux hiérarques dGe-lugs-pa.

La peinture participe à l’apogée du style sMan-bris (environ 1650-1750), délicatement rehaussée de détails à l’or. Les tons particulièrement sombres la rapprochent des fameux Thang-ka noirs (Nag-thang), manière réservée aux divinités farouches qui surgissent théâtralement de l’obscurité telle une apparition.

Provenance: Collection Bortolot. Navin Kumar Gallery, New York, octobre 1990.

HAR – himalayanart.org/items/61457