Flattened vessel

15 000,00

HORI ICHIRŌ b. 1952
Shino type vertically faceted, flattened vessel
2021
Glazed stoneware

Category: Tag:

Description

A self-described mountain man who lives in semi-seclusion, HORI Ichirō (b. 1952) resides at his kiln compound isolated from modern life. His exceptionally powerful works in a range of Mino styles*, however, are by no means stuck in the past. From thick, crawling Shino glazes on swirling vessels to outstanding ki-seto works in restrained yellows, he brings an exciting modern perspective to a venerable tradition.
Born into a ceramic-making family in Gifu, Hori Ichirō studied as a young man under Living National Treasure, Katō Kōzō (b. 1935). In 1984, he built his own anagama (tunnel) kiln in the mountains of Mizunami City, where he continues to experiment with traditional materials and techniques, producing pieces of great complexity and variety. In 1997, he moved his workshop to Ōkusa and established a new compound with both climbing and tunnel kilns. Known primarily in Japan for his dynamic wood-fired vessels and white and gray Shino and Seto teabowls, Hori’s distinctive forms result from long periods of contemplation. He fires his kilns just twice a year, using long, low-heat firings to allow the clay’s deep-reddish tone to emerge through the thick, creamy glazes. Aside from Shino and Seto ware, Hori excels at black Seto glazing and the difficult ash-glazed ki-seto ware, in which a pale yellow color is applied to a roughly textured surface. Using all the traditional styles of Mino as his foundation, Hori’s inner tension and strength emerges in clear, robust forms.

Hori Ichirō’s works have been featured in museum exhibitions at the Asian Art Museum, San Francisco, CA; Honolulu Museum of Art, Honolulu, HI; and Museum für Ostasiatische Kunst, Berlin, Germany, among others. He is collected by several major museums in the United States, including the Minneapolis Institute of Art, MN; Seattle Art Museum, WA; San Antonio Museum of Art, TX; Crocker Museum of Art, CA; and Cincinnati Art Museum, OH.

“Sometimes I think myself a coward, living like a hermit in a mountain village. Other than firing works twice a year, I remain lost in thought. This is not because I am overly preoccupied with designing each piece but rather, because I need extra time to reflect in order to allow each piece to emerge naturally. Nature is my reality.”
“My inner feelings are expressed honestly and frankly as I shape and fire my works. I prefer genuine, natural sentiments that are not flamboyant ”
-Hori Ichirō

Flattened vessel

15 000,00

HORI ICHIRŌ b. 1952
Vase aplati à facettes verticales de type Shino
Grès émaillé
2021

Catégorie :

Description

Se décrivant lui-même comme un montagnard vivant en semi-clandestinité, HORI Ichirō (né en 1952) réside dans l’enceinte de son four, isolé de la vie moderne. Ses œuvres exceptionnellement puissantes dans une gamme de styles Mino*, cependant, ne sont en aucun cas coincées dans le passé. Des glaçures Shino épaisses et rampantes sur des récipients tourbillonnants aux remarquables œuvres ki-seto dans des jaunes sobres, il apporte une perspective moderne et passionnante à une tradition vénérable.

Né dans une famille de céramistes à Gifu, Hori Ichirō a étudié dans sa jeunesse auprès du trésor national vivant, Katō Kōzō (né en 1935). En 1984, il construit son propre four anagama (tunnel) dans les montagnes de la ville de Mizunami, où il continue d’expérimenter les matériaux et techniques traditionnels, produisant des pièces d’une grande complexité et variété. En 1997, il a déménagé son atelier à Ōkusa et a établi un nouveau complexe avec des fours à grimper et à tunnel. Connu principalement au Japon pour ses récipients dynamiques cuits au bois et ses tasses de thé Shino et Seto blanches et grises, les formes distinctives de Hori sont le résultat de longues périodes de contemplation. Il n’enflamme ses fours que deux fois par an, utilisant des cuissons longues et à basse température pour permettre aux tons rougeâtres profonds de l’argile d’émerger à travers les glaçures épaisses et crémeuses. Outre la céramique de Shino et de Seto, Hori excelle dans la glaçure noire de Seto et dans la difficile céramique ki-seto à glaçure de cendre, dans laquelle une couleur jaune pâle est appliquée sur une surface grossièrement texturée. En utilisant tous les styles traditionnels de Mino comme base, la tension et la force intérieures de Hori émergent dans des formes claires et robustes.

Les œuvres de Hori Ichirō ont fait l’objet d’expositions au Asian Art Museum, San Francisco, CA, au Honolulu Museum of Art, Honolulu, HI, et au Museum für Ostasiatische Kunst, Berlin, Allemagne, entre autres. Il est collectionné par plusieurs grands musées des États-Unis, dont le Minneapolis Institute of Art, MN ; le Seattle Art Museum, WA ; le San Antonio Museum of Art, TX ; le Crocker Museum of Art, CA ; et le Cincinnati Art Museum, OH.

« Parfois, je me prends pour un lâche, vivant comme un ermite dans un village de montagne. À part tirer des œuvres deux fois par an, je reste perdu dans mes pensées. Ce n’est pas parce que je suis trop préoccupé par la conception de chaque pièce, mais plutôt parce que j’ai besoin de temps supplémentaire pour réfléchir afin de permettre à chaque pièce d’émerger naturellement. La nature est ma réalité. »
« Mes sentiments intérieurs sont exprimés avec honnêteté et franchise lorsque je façonne et cuit mes œuvres. Je préfère les sentiments authentiques et naturels qui ne sont pas flamboyants.  »
-Hori Ichirō