Dissection of Awe

7 500,00

Jun Matsumura, B. 1986
2021
Porcelain
12.4 cm x 59.8 cm x 13.9 cm

Category:

Description

Matsumura Jun was born in Chiba Prefecture on the outskirts of Tokyo in 1986.
He graduated from the University of South Alabama in 2010, and graduated the Tajimi Municipal Ceramics Research Facility in 2015, then went on to the Utatsuyama Research Facility in Kanazawa, leaving there in 2018.
His transcendent, innovative forms have set the heart of the ceramic world racing and he has been awarded at the exhibition Tradition and Innovation-Japanese Ceramics Now as well as the 3rd Triennale of KOGEI in Kanazawa and have been presented at TEFAF in Maastricht, Art Fair Tokyo in 2018, Art Collect in London and Art Kyoto in 2019. The sculpture “Dissection of Awe” has been exhibited at in the Paramita Museum in June 2021, one of the most well-known ceramics shows in Japan.
As an artist growing up surrounded by the Japanese philosophy and subcultures, he creates work based on the practise of Kogei (Japanese traditional arts and crafts) and he uses porcelain as the medium to reflect on the delicacy of the modern culture, prompting the audience to rethink about the current situations in society and the underlying consequences. The form of this sharp streamline sculpture has affinity with architecture. Sometime Jun reach the ambiguity between function/non function. If you experience his tea bowls with those sharp line, you will understand the charm of the texture, weight, and more.

Dissection of Awe

7 500,00

Jun Matsumura, né en 1986
Porcelaine
2021
12,4 cm x 59,8 cm x 13,9 cm

Catégorie : Étiquette :

Description

Jun Matsumura est né dans la préfecture de Chiba, dans la banlieue de Tokyo, en 1986.
Diplômé de l’université d’Alabama du Sud en 2010, il est sorti diplômé du centre de recherche municipal sur la céramique de Tajimi en 2015, puis du centre de recherche d’Utatsuyama à Kanazawa, qu’il a quitté en 2018.
Ses formes transcendantes et innovantes ont fait battre le cœur du monde de la céramique. Il a été récompensé lors de l’exposition Tradition et Innovation – Japanese Ceramics Now ainsi que lors de la 3e Triennale de KOGEI à Kanazawa et a été présenté à TEFAF à Maastricht, Art Fair Tokyo en 2018, Art Collect à Londres et Art Kyoto en 2019. La sculpture « Dissection of Awe » a été exposée au Musée Paramita en juin 2021, l’une des expositions de céramique les plus connues au Japon.
En tant qu’artiste ayant grandi entouré de la philosophie et des sous-cultures japonaises, il crée des œuvres basées sur la pratique du Kogei (arts et artisanat traditionnels japonais) et utilise la porcelaine comme support pour réfléchir à la délicatesse de la culture moderne, incitant le public à repenser aux situations actuelles de la société et aux conséquences sous-jacentes. La forme de cette sculpture aux contours nets a des affinités avec l’architecture. Parfois, Jun atteint l’ambiguïté entre la fonction et la non fonction. Si vous faites l’expérience de ses bols à thé aux lignes tranchantes, vous comprendrez le charme de la texture, du poids, etc.