Vyāla

17 000,00

Sandstone
Northern India
11th-12th century
H. 59 cm or 23 ¼ in

Category:

Description

This fabulous vyāla made of sandstone is a mythical animal omnipresent in Indian art and is getting all our attention this week. Similar to the dynamism of Khajurāho’s leogryphs, we date it from the 11th-12th century. Measuring 59 cm high in total (23 ¼ in), the work is impressive.

The vyāla is a clawed beast, a sort of chimera, borrowing features from different animals. Represented here in a rampant pose, proudly bent, we recognize the body of a lion whose curled tail tip appears on the thigh, as well as its skillfully worked chest with a large flowing mane. Its head is that of an elephant, easily identifiable by its trunk and tusks. Using the makara pattern, this shape is rare and very original.

The depiction of the small, slim and androgynous figure on the back of the vyāla evokes a fight and refers to a popular theme found several times at Khajurāho. As Gilles Béguin writes in his study of the site, this probably alludes to an unknown legend, a local tradition reporting that princes of the Candella family were expected to kill a lion in their sixteenth year.

Carved in high relief on a solid background, this piece combines subtle composition, elegant and flowing curves, strength of the animal and a realistic sense of movement. It shows a captured moment to the viewer, with this dynamic and sophisticated twist. The high quality of the openings, the carving of the mane, the care and originality of the treatment of the tufts of hair in foliage are all remarkable.

 

Provenance: Private collection, UK, acquired from Simon Ray in London.

Vyāla

17 000,00

Grès
Inde du Nord
XIe-XIIe siècle
H. 59 cm

Catégorie : Étiquette :

Description

Animal fantastique omniprésent dans l’art indien, ce fabuleux vyāla en grès retient toute notre attention. Rappelant le dynamisme des léogriffes de Khajurāho, nous le datons du XIe-XIIe siècle. Mesurant 59 cm de hauteur au total, l’œuvre est impressionnante.

Le vyāla est une bête griffue, une sorte de chimère, mêlant des emprunts aux animaux les plus divers. Représenté ici fièrement dressé et cambré, on reconnaît la croupe du lion dont l’extrémité de la queue enroulée apparaît sur la cuisse, ainsi que son superbe poitrail ouvragé. Sa tête est celle d’un éléphant, aisément identifiable à sa trompe et ses défenses. Usant du motif du makara, cette forme est rare et très originale.

La représentation du petit personnage à la silhouette svelte et androgyne sur le dos du vyāla évoque un combat et renvoie à un thème populaire retrouvé à plusieurs reprises à Khajurāho. Comme le rappelle Gilles Béguin dans son étude du site, cela fait sans doute référence à un contexte légendaire inconnu, une tradition locale rapportant que les princes de la famille des Candella se devaient de tuer un lion dans leur seizième année.

Sculptée en haut-relief sur un fond plein, cette pièce mêle habileté de la composition, courbes gracieuses et fluides, puissance de l’animal et mouvement général. Elle témoigne d’un sens indiscutable du mouvement, avec cette torsion dynamique et sophistiquée. Il faut par ailleurs noter la grande qualité des ajours, le dessin du poitrail, le soin et l’originalité du traitement des touffes de poil en rinceaux.

Provenance : Collection privée, Royaume-Uni, acquis chez Simon Ray à Londres.