Lama

Gilded bronze
Tibet
17th – 18th century
H. 23 cm or 9 ⅛ in

Category:

Description

With his right hand, the lama makes the gesture of discussion (vitarkamudrā), his left resting in his lap. Many ecclesiastics are depicted in this way, most being identified by an attribute held in their left hand, usually the book of their writings or an alms bowl. It would seem that it is not the case with this statuette. Its perfect gilding shows no trace of any element having been removed. Moreover, the fingers of the hand seem to be making a characteristic movement. The high hat with the long flaps enables us to presume that our monk belongs to the dGe-lugs-pa order.

 

In the Aṣṭasāhasrikā pantheon (Chandra, 1991), several lamas have the same iconography as this statuette. Most of them are making the same discreet motion with the fingers of their left hand (p. 437, No. 1227, Tshul-khrims-‘bar; p. 443, No. 1251, Chos-kyi-rgyal-mtshan; p. 482, No. 1409, Yongs-‘dzin bLo-bzangs bstan-‘dzin, p. 501, No. 1483, Na-bza’ Brag-phug-pa; and (p. 502, No. 1492, bsLab-gsum-rgyal-mtshan).

 

The character is seated on two superposed cushions, indicating he holds an important position in the community.

 

The work has great sculptural qualities. The stylized face, with accentuated ethnic features, could be an actual portrait. In certain places, the draped fabrics show sharp folds. In the back, the folds of the cloak are handled with unusual and highly remarkable vigor. This particularly powerful treatment does not preclude careful decoration. The collar of the monastic robe and the cloak are trimmed with Chinese textile braiding decorated with delicately engraved motifs, as are the cushions of the seat.

 

Depictions of holy men are considered to be “relics of the body” just the same as are organic remains. The fervor they cause and even their mere presence are cause for merit. They should be viewed differently from “relics of the heart”, which include their personal objects, often ritual ones, and “relics of the mind”, the sum of their spiritual teachings and their writings. The multiplication of lamas incarnates (sPrul-sku) in the 18th and 19th centuries caused a multiplication of portraits of lamas and of their spiritual line recomposed a posteriori. Among this immense production, the present portrait stands out by its sculptural quality and the clearly Sino-Mongol features.

Through a perfect balance between Tibetan traditions and the motifs of Chinese origin, the statuette is a perfect example of the Tibetan art of the last few centuries.

Provenance: Christie’s, London, 8 November 2016, P. 168, No. 147.

Work cited:

  • Chandra, Lokesh, Buddhist Iconography (compact Edition). New Deihi : International Academy of Indian Culture-Aditya Prakashan, 1991.

Lama

Bronze doré
Tibet
XVIIe – XVIIIe siècle
H. 23 cm ou 9 ⅛ in

Catégorie : Étiquette :

Description

Le religieux fait de la main droite le geste d’enseignement (vitarkamudrā), la main gauche reposant dans le giron. Beaucoup d’ecclésiastiques sont ainsi représentés, la plupart pouvant être identifiée par un attribut posé dans le creux de la main gauche, le livre de leurs écrits ou un bol à aumônes le plus souvent. A l’examen, il ne semble pas que ce fut le cas de la présente statuette. La dorure parfaite ne montre aucune trace d’arrachement d’un élément disparu. La main d’ailleurs esquisse un léger mouvement des doigts caractéristique. La coiffe très haute pourvue de longs rabats permet de rattacher notre moine à l’ordre des dGe-lugs-pa.

Dans le panthéon de l’Aṣṭasāhasrikā, (Chandra, 1991) plusieurs religieux possèdent la même iconographie que la statuette ici concernée. La plupart esquisse le même léger mouvement des doigts de la main gauche (P. 437, n° 1227, Tshul-khrims-‘bar ; p. 443, n° 1251, Chos-kyi-rgyal-mtshan ; p. 482, n° 1409, Yongs-‘dzin bLo-bzangs bstan-‘dzin ; p. 501, n° 1483, Na-bza’ Brag-phug-pa et p. 502, n° 1492, bsLab-gsum-rgyal-mtshan).

Le personnage est assis sur deux coussins superposés, indication d’un rang important dans la communauté.

L’œuvre possède de grandes qualités plastiques. Le visage stylisé, aux traits ethniques accusés, pourrait être un portrait véritable. Les drapés présentent par endroits des plis très accusés. Ainsi dans le dos, ceux du manteau sont traités avec une vigueur inhabituelle, tout à fait remarquable. Ce traitement particulièrement puissant n’interdit pas une ornementation soignée. Le col de la robe monastique et le manteau sont pourvus de galons de textile chinois aux délicats motifs gravés. Il en est de même des coussins du siège.

Les représentations de saints hommes sont considérées comme des « reliques du corps » au même titre que leurs restes organiques. La ferveur qui y est attachée et même leur simple présence permettent d’apporter des mérites. Il convient de les distinguer des « reliques de cœur », constituées de leurs objets personnels, souvent rituels, distribuées à leurs disciples préférés, et des « reliques d’esprit », somme de leur enseignements spirituels et de leurs écrits. La multiplication des lamas incarnés (sPrul-sku) aux XVIIIe et XIXe siècle occasionna la multiplication des portraits de religieux et de leur lignée spirituelle recomposée a posteriori. Parmi cette immense production, le présent portrait tranche par sa qualité plastique et ses traits sino-mongols accusés.

Par un parfait équilibre entre les traditions tibétaines et des motifs d’origine chinoise, la statuette est un parfait exemple de l’art tibétain des derniers siècles.

Provenance: Collection privée.

Art Loss Register Certificate, ref. S00125944.

Ouvrage cité :

  • Chandra, Lokesh, Buddhist Iconography (compact Edition). New Deihi : International Academy of Indian Culture-Aditya Prakashan, 1991.